Range Rover Velar Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
421 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Right now I have an order for the D300 but not sure whether I should change the order and get the P380.

·
Registered
35 Posts
I currently drive a Jaguar XJL wirh the 300 diesel engine. Massive torque and drives lovely.

Thing is we are fairly sure diesel is going to be hammered by the exchequer and now that the road tax is charged on price and not co2 I am going for the p380 for the sheer hell and fun of it!

Thing is I am a low miles driver so happy to live with the lower mpg.

As they tax the diesel more thiere won't be a lot in it anyway.

According to the dealer the petrol versions are very popular as they used and there value holds up very well.

·
Registered
35 Posts
The build configurator gives a near identical GFV after both 3 and 4 years of £44,500 on the First Edition.

This backs up what my dealer told me that the petrols depreciate the same as the diesels.

If we do get tax hikes on diesel the petrol could even fare better.

·
Registered
421 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Has anyone driven both engines in the F-type by any chance? Price and Tax isn't the issue but what suits the car better. Coming from a BMW with the 4 cylinder petrol N20 so either engine would be a huge step up in power :)

·
Registered
171 Posts
I have owned the Fpace with the 3 Liter Diesel and the Fpace with the 3 Liter Petrol engines and can give you an idea from them two,

The 3 litre petrol is more fun to drive and is quicker to pick up from stand still and has a exhaust note that when you plant your foot you hear, if your driving is more around town and A roads then i would choose this all day long and with the issues of Diesels being brought to light more and more it may not be an issue as yet but in a few years when you come to resell the diesel unit could be an issue.