Range Rover Velar Forum banner
1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Been a regular viewer on here and spent quite a lot of time on the Velar configurater, but I have to admit, I'm being torn towards Jag I-Pace.

Nice looking car with a lot of the Velar tech and lets face it, we will all be driving electric vehicles soon, so why not jump in early?

Because the infrastructure isn't quite ready yet?
Long distance travel limited by recharging?
New car issues?
I really want a Velar!

On the plus side:
Look how damn quick it is!
300mls range, my daily running, I'll probably only need to charge it once a week
Near silent running
Cheap to run
Looks and packaging appeal
I worry about residuals of conventional cars as I believe EV's are going to boom over the next few years

What's your thoughts?

·
Registered
482 Posts
Hello DNR17,

I am no expert on the speed with which electric will nudge combustion out of the market. If I was, I wouldn't be sitting on this commuter train typing this post!

However, there is something called the Adoption Curve. Sometimes it's called the Innovation Curve. It is something all companies use when trying to gain a foothold in the market for a new product and then get it to mainstream. After that, you can reduce the marketing budget as the consumer does the rest.

So, thinking about where you live (city and rural will be different as I live in the rural Scottish Borders and I can tell you that diesel has a few years left in it around these parts), where do you think folk are on the adoption curve?