waze on the velar

Faults and Technical chat for the Range Rover Velar
peterd
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 1:29 pm
Location: FR

waze on the velar

Post by peterd » Sun Oct 08, 2017 8:43 am

Just curious

did somebody tried to buy an hdmi/airplay dongle in order to display the phone screen on one of the velar display ?
The idea is to have waze and/or google maps which are still the best tool to navigate in city traffic.
After an initial setup on the velar's wifi network to should be easy to use.

Pierre


User avatar
Ludo
Posts: 104
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2017 9:30 am
Location: France

Re: waze on the velar

Post by Ludo » Mon Oct 09, 2017 9:34 am

@ Pierre : welcome. Nice to see another French here :-)

Not 100% sure what can / has to be done. I am doing massive airplay for music at home thanks to my wifi provider (Free). But I never used airplay for video signal.

Do you mean that if I buy something like the dongle below :

https://www.amazon.fr/EZCast-2-4G-Affic ... rplay+hdmi

I will be able to :
1. plug this dongle onto the HDMI slot of the velar
2. stream my Iphone screen onto the HDMI, only by using airplay from my Iphone. No additional hardware to plug on the Iphone ?

If so this is a brilliant idea and I'll buy the stuff to try.

But, Is waze compatible with airplay ?

Is this the appropriate dongle ?

sorry for my silly questions but I am kind of newbie here :o
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________
MY18 Velar D180 R-Dyn S, Corris, Black sliding pano roof, 20'' black rims, Black leather, Teinted glass. delivered oct. 2
2014 Freelander 2 D160 HSE


GEE
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon May 08, 2017 1:49 pm

Re: waze on the velar

Post by GEE » Mon Oct 09, 2017 2:05 pm

As far as I'm aware, only the over priced official Apple HDMI adapter allows for the screen to be mirrored without a need for an App to be running.

https://www.apple.com/uk/shop/product/M ... av-adapter

TBH, I've been impressed with the commute mode in the built-in Sat Nav with live traffic. Since I've turned it on, I no longer use google maps to navigate.


User avatar
Ludo
Posts: 104
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2017 9:30 am
Location: France

Re: waze on the velar

Post by Ludo » Mon Oct 09, 2017 2:40 pm

GEE wrote:
Mon Oct 09, 2017 2:05 pm
As far as I'm aware, only the over priced official Apple HDMI adapter allows for the screen to be mirrored without a need for an App to be running.

https://www.apple.com/uk/shop/product/M ... av-adapter

TBH, I've been impressed with the commute mode in the built-in Sat Nav with live traffic. Since I've turned it on, I no longer use google maps to navigate.
@ Gee : thanks for your feedback. I've seen terrible reviews on those cheap EZCast dongle in the meantime. In addition it seems to require a wifi access. not ideal.

How did you get the Live Traffic to work. I do have ICTP Services, but traffic seems unavailable. Do I need to insert a data sim card for this or is there a way for the ICTP to use my Iphone data (I could share network).
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________
MY18 Velar D180 R-Dyn S, Corris, Black sliding pano roof, 20'' black rims, Black leather, Teinted glass. delivered oct. 2
2014 Freelander 2 D160 HSE


GEE
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon May 08, 2017 1:49 pm

Re: waze on the velar

Post by GEE » Mon Oct 09, 2017 3:27 pm

Ludo wrote:
Mon Oct 09, 2017 2:40 pm
GEE wrote:
Mon Oct 09, 2017 2:05 pm
As far as I'm aware, only the over priced official Apple HDMI adapter allows for the screen to be mirrored without a need for an App to be running.

https://www.apple.com/uk/shop/product/M ... av-adapter

TBH, I've been impressed with the commute mode in the built-in Sat Nav with live traffic. Since I've turned it on, I no longer use google maps to navigate.
@ Gee : thanks for your feedback. I've seen terrible reviews on those cheap EZCast dongle in the meantime. In addition it seems to require a wifi access. not ideal.

How did you get the Live Traffic to work. I do have ICTP Services, but traffic seems unavailable. Do I need to insert a data sim card for this or is there a way for the ICTP to use my Iphone data (I could share network).
I'm using a data sim. I reckon 2GB for the year would be more than sufficient. Before I got a data sim, I did use the hotspot feature on my iPhone to give data access to my ICTP and if I recall correctly, traffic worked then as well. The reason why I went with a data sim is because my ICTP wouldn't automatically connect to my iPhone, I had to keep manually connecting.


User avatar
Ludo
Posts: 104
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2017 9:30 am
Location: France

Re: waze on the velar

Post by Ludo » Mon Oct 09, 2017 3:47 pm

[/quote]

I'm using a data sim. I reckon 2GB for the year would be more than sufficient. Before I got a data sim, I did use the hotspot feature on my iPhone to give data access to my ICTP and if I recall correctly, traffic worked then as well. The reason why I went with a data sim is because my ICTP wouldn't automatically connect to my iPhone, I had to keep manually connecting.
[/quote]

@ Gee. thanks for this . I shall test tonight ICTP connection on my iphone shared wifi. Eventually I will order a data sim
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________
MY18 Velar D180 R-Dyn S, Corris, Black sliding pano roof, 20'' black rims, Black leather, Teinted glass. delivered oct. 2
2014 Freelander 2 D160 HSE


peterd
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 1:29 pm
Location: FR

Re: waze on the velar

Post by peterd » Wed Oct 11, 2017 7:19 am

I have purchased the dongle , will test it at home in the next days. I keep you posted. If it does not work well a hdmi adaptor for the iPhone might work too.
I am not sure that traffic service have the same level in all countries ...but if it works in France, Ludo keep me posted.


GEE
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon May 08, 2017 1:49 pm

Re: waze on the velar

Post by GEE » Wed Oct 11, 2017 10:11 am

Thinking about it, HDMI will most probably be disabled when you're on the move.


bazzert9
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu May 18, 2017 11:05 am
Location: Northwest UK

Re: waze on the velar

Post by bazzert9 » Wed Oct 11, 2017 10:13 am

Yes it does ive had the iphone on the screen via a HDMI Iphone Cable, but as soon as you move the screen blanks


User avatar
Ludo
Posts: 104
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2017 9:30 am
Location: France

Re: waze on the velar

Post by Ludo » Thu Oct 12, 2017 8:29 am

Well if HDMI IS SHUT off while driving then the debate is closed

By the way WiFi search can. Or be performed while driving either. So has to be set up before departure. And it is not automatic on restart. So definitely to get traffic , I recommend a sim data. I ordered one with 5 GB FOR 5 €/month.

I also confirm that the traffic gps is not so bad compared to waze. Not as fast in handling situations but does the job really
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________
MY18 Velar D180 R-Dyn S, Corris, Black sliding pano roof, 20'' black rims, Black leather, Teinted glass. delivered oct. 2
2014 Freelander 2 D160 HSE


Post Reply

Return to “Faults & Technical”


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest